Hello!

My friends call me H and that’s what I’d like my readers to know me as too. I came to the US in 2009 as a student. Having completed graduate school, I now have a full-time day job and will be blogging on the side. I strategize credit card sign-ups and award redemptions for  my wife and I. We love traveling and our points and miles have enabled us to travel in style, stay at amazing hotels, and be the envy of friends and family 🙂

Why I started writing about this hobby- I’ve been in the miles and points hobby for only about 2 years now. Right from the start, I could see a dearth of people in this community who had started with no credit score. That’s right! I started from SCRATCH!

That’s hard to imagine but completely plausible. I’ve come a long way since 2009 –  came to this country as a student, got a brand new social security number within a week of landing in the US, built a credit history from scratch, and now am able to travel in style with miles and points.

I come from a country where there is no “formal” concept of a credit score. My parents didn’t believe in any sort of credit (my dad still hates using his credit card; my mom doesn’t even have one). I had educated myself and developed a strictly decent credit score by 2013. That’s when I stumbled upon Milevalue.com and haven’t looked back since. I remember emailing Scott Grimmer for some strategy help and received the most gracious and humble response. He was so patient even with a newbie like me. I decided that I would pay it forward if I could and this blog is my way of doing just that – paying it forward to newbies; especially those that come to the US and have to build a credit history from scratch. You too can TRAVEL IN STYLE!

I follow three blogs religiously:

I owe a lot to these blogs…I’ve learnt a lot from them (including how to start figuring stuff out on my own).

If you have any questions for me, please browse through the “Ask H” and “Credit Card Strategy” sections. You can ask me questions there too.

Disclaimer:

The advice on this blog does not amount to legal advice. Applications for credit are at your own risk. 

Leave a Reply

